Mark's Media Spotlight

Mark's views on what's happening in the media.

5 Comments »

  1. Calling people stereotypes. Looks like we need to get an It Gets Better video for the gay community or maybe I should commit suicide because I’m feminine so that I can be accepted by gay people. My Dad doesn’t accept me and now you don’t either… It’s not just you. It’s a disgusting movement in the gay community. NO FATS OR FEMS. Who can I turn to? You’re doing more damage than you think when you make fun of feminine gay men. Sorry I’m not as masculine as you. I was born this way.

    Comment by Daniel | June 27, 2012 | Reply

    • There isn’t anywhere in the article that stated you weren’t accepted. If maybe you’d consider reading through the article again and take in the point that was being made, there is nothing in there that said effeminate gay guys like yourself (as you have labeled yourself, not me) can’t be shown on TV or should be banned from being recognized etc… One of the reasons Queer As Folk was so good is because they had a mix of everything – fem, butch and in-between. All I’m looking for LOGO to is to show some representation from all parts of our community so that people will have a better idea as to what were all about. It’s not about excluding anyone and I don’t get where your reading that in the remarks on this blog. There may be gay guys that don’t except you the way you are out there, but I’m not one of them.. my friends are as diverse as the shows I’m looking to see on LOGO and I don’t claim to be the champion of butch men (I enjoy Cher as much as the next gay). But really – the whole point is moot because LOGO looks to be turning to mostly straight shows with a touch of gay, so we all lose. Have a nice day Daniel.

      Comment by xwiseguyx | July 1, 2012 | Reply

  2. For an excellent response to my commentary, please check this link out..

    http://www.tvmediainsights.com/forum/?mingleforumaction=viewtopic&t=1945.0

    Comment by xwiseguyx | June 28, 2012 | Reply

  3. According to Sherman, Logo’s revenues and ratings are booming since its recent realignment. Advertising income has grown by double digits every year they’ve been in business, and the second quarter of this year was its highest-rated to date. That doesn’t mean everyone’s happy. I’ve done my own share of griping about Logo’s programming. (My public complaints were mostly limited to snarky tweets about The A List: New York , the channel’s feeble attempt to produce its own version of the Real Housewives franchise. The A List’s slogan: “Housewives. With Balls.”) But online articles about Logo are inevitably accompanied by negative comments accusing it of betraying the gay community. CBS, the most successful network on broadcast television, generates a fraction of that passion. We hold family to higher standards than strangers, so while it’s easy for me to ignore the Real Housewives, I feel obliged to watch and whine when people who are playing on my team—whether it’s the A-Listers or the women of Showtime’s The Real L Word —make fools of themselves in public.

    Comment by offshore bank | July 27, 2012 | Reply

  4. I have looked thru the entire Logo presentation without finding how to contact someone concerning the programming being presented. If I want a heavy dose of Roseanne or many of the other shows on Logo, I can certainly find them on many other networks. Pregnant teens and overweight persons the same. What I do tune to Logo for is GAY programming!! Period–exclamation point!! Except for the endless run of RuPaul there is very little gay content, or even gay intent. And what hides as programming is mostly in and about women. Believe it or not, there are gay men that would appreciate some episodes geared to them. And, as a senior citizen, a line or two about us wouldn’t hurt…klovctr

    Comment by ken beauchamp | June 15, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

