Mark's Media Spotlight

Mark's views on what's happening in the media.

Crash Is About To Burn


The Cast of Starz

The End Of The Road Is Near

The news doesn’t look good for the very few fans of the Starz original series Crash.  I also found out that I was one of only 97,000 people who watched what looks to be the final episode of the series, which is a shame because it was one of the best hours of drama that I can recall.  One where you actually think about all of the events that lead up to the final climatic moment of the show.  97,000 people?  Really?

OK, so perhaps there are millions unaccounted for like me who DVR’d it.  Well, maybe not.  But seriously, all of this brilliant acting shouldn’t go sight unseen.  Netflix has the show on instant download (although I’m hearing that eps nine and 10 are out of order).  But look, any show with well known names like Dennis Hopper, Eric Roberts and Keith Carradine is at least worth checking out.  Don’t you agree?  One word of note.  You do have to watch the entire series to get the appropriate payback for some of the previous episodes.  This show is going away – no doubt about it.  Treasure it while you can.

The show hasn’t been “officially cancelled yet”, but Starz president and CEO Chris Albrecht has only been been on the job for 3 days!   He comes from HBO, so I think he is used to seeing much larger numbers.

January 14, 2010 - Posted by | Crash

2 Comments »

  1. I only got into this series in its second season, but I have been enamoured by every single aspect of its production. In my opinion, it operates at a more complex and rewarding level than the theatrical film on which it is based.

    Perhaps new honcho Mr. Chris Albrecht will sit down on a weekend afternoon and review both seasons of this fabulous series before making his third season renew/cancel decision. He has a reputation for backing creative risk-taking, and this series delivers major pay-offs for the viewer.

    I think this series was never launched properly and promoted. It all but evaded my periscope up until near the end of the second season, and this is the type of series that I watch television for.

    And thanks xwiseguyx for your tip on STARZ ‘Head Case’ series, which I have ordered up on DVD from Amazon.

    Comment by DuMont | January 24, 2010 | Reply

  2. I would have to say that with ‘Crash’, ‘Spartacus’, ‘Party Down’ and ‘Head Case’, STARZ network is a pay cabler I can embrace (as much as I love ‘Nurse Jackie’ and ‘United States of Tara’). I’m still waiting to hear definitive word on the third season of ‘Crash’ and the next events following the assassination on the season ender.

    My hat is tipped to Mr. Chris Albrecht for creating a network that is talked about in the most fashionable salons.

    Bravo STARZ! More, more, more!!!

    Comment by DuMont | May 5, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

